UM Women

2019+Mission+u+flyer+for+July+and+Oct.pdfThe Purpose of United Methodist Women

The organized unit of United Methodist Women shall be a community of women whose PURPOSE is to know God, and to experience freedom as whole persons through Jesus Christ, to develop a creative, supportive fellowship, and to expand concepts of mission through participation in the global ministries of the church.

IA Conference UM Women website: www.iaumc.org/unitedmethodistwomen
2019 UMW Officers
2019 Shepherdess Assignments for East Central District Units
Upcoming Events
MARCH
Friday, March 1 - World Day of Prayer USA - Slovania
Friday, March 8 - International Bell Ringing for Women's Rights
Saturday, March 23 - Spiritual Growth Day Apart and 150th Birthday Party
All women of the East Central District (as well as interested clergy, men, youth & children) are invited to a special day of learning and celebration at Cedar Rapids, St. Paul's United Methodist Church (1340 3rd Ave SE). Conference UMW President, Lynn Calvert, will lead discussion and activities from our current Spiritual Growth Study entitled "Embracing Wholeness: An Earth Perspective for Covenantal Living". And since March 23 is THE DAY recognized as the birth-day of our predecessor Methodist Women's mission outreach organizations, we will have cake, balloons, and favors to help us honor 150 years of United Methodist Women in mission - Faith, Hope, & Love in ACTION! Registration for this special event will begin at 9:00 AM with the study scheduled from 9:30 AM to 2:30 PM. Pre-registration is helpful to Kate Buroker, Brokawkj@aol.com, 319-362-5285 (h) or 319-929-2109 (c). Just let her know how many will be coming in your car. Each carload is invited to bring one salad to share for our lunch together. Morning snacks, beverages, and desserts will be furnished. We look forward to a great day of celebrating with our district UMW sisters!
APRIL
Saturday, April 6 - Laity Day with our Bishop
Sunday, April 21 - Easter
MAY
Saturday, May 4 - District Spa Day for all UMW & friends - Iowa city First UMC - 10:00 AM to 2:00 PM
JUNE
Sunday, June 9 - UMW gathering at Annual Conference
Sunday, June 30 - Mission and Reading Reports due
JULY
Sunday, July 21 - Tuesday, July 23 - Summer Mission u - Marshalltown
AUGUST
TBD - District Mission Study Day
"United Methodist Women in Mission: 150 Years and Beyond" TBD - 9:00 AM to 2:00 PM
SEPTEMBER
Saturday, September 21 - District Annual Meeting - Iowa City First UMC - 9:00 AM to 2:30 PM
OCTOBER
Friday, October 4 - Iowa Conference UMW Ubuntu Day (day of service), Des Moines
Saturday, October 5 - Conference Annual Meeting - Des Moines
Friday, October 18 - Sunday, October 20 - Fall Mission u - Marshalltown
NOVEMBER
Friday, November 1 - World Community Day
Saturday, November 2 - Iowa Thanksgiving Ingathering